Past, Present & Future

Past, Present & Future 1a

 The Past:

I thought this was perfect timing to look at the revelations we lived through during 2012, those occurrences that I felt I connected with or was affected by on an intellectual or emotional level, but they are not in date order, just as I recall them:

Relations with Iran deteriorate – is this the next war on the horizon that the Americans and UK will tag team together?

1a1

The revelations of savage Savile explode and this was bad enough, then the BBC make a complete hash of it all, destroying their credibility, which they are now having to rebuild; BBC 001a

The Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II marks the 60th anniversary of her accession to the thrones of the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, and the 60th anniversary of her becoming Head of the Commonwealth; 1g

London holding the Paralympics which made a significant  positive impact on the public consciousness of what people with disabilities are capABLE of, are ABLE to do, and it was a wonderfully spectacular – I definitely developed a man-crush on Oscar Pistorius; 1h

From drought to the wettest year since records began, I mean it rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rainedand rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and

1k

rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained and rained, I think you get the message, did I mention that it really did rain a lot!; 1j

European crisis spirals out of control and Greece, Spain, Italy and Cyprus need bailing out or would have collapsed, bringing down with them the entire Euro Zone if they were to default on their repayments to the Euro Bank and other Nations that have lent to them; 61r

Obama re-elected and has made history in his own right; 1l

USA & UK start wrapping things up in Afghanistan. So many young lives given for this decade old war, and we know as soon as we leave they will descend into civil war; 1a2

Arab Spring continues with Syria and other dictatorships being busted by the people, but what will we have in its place when the dust settles over the Middle East? Something better or worse perhaps? 1n

Lord Coe is revered by the Country for coordinating the best Olympics and Paralympics in living memory, and along with this the Mayor of London, Boris, goes up in the UK’s awareness and estimation;1o

North Korea finally and successfully launches an intercontinental missile and now the world waits to see what they will do next. Having this capability means they can make global war if they wanted to under the new young Dictator that has ascended to power;1a3

Lord Justice Leveson releases his long awaited report into the press and it is scathing, but it acts as a wedge in the Coalition as cracks appear, but either way it will change press regulation long into the future; 1p

In the worst power outage in world history, the 2012 India blackouts leave 620 million people without power – sorry am just a bit of a geek for such facts!; 1a4

Let’s not forget ‘Pleb-Gate’ which turns full circle and looks like the Police may have stitched-up a Minister – lots more to come on this snippet; 1q

Relatives of the people who died in the Hillsborough disaster finally get vindication from Parliament and get exactly what they asked for – a new Coroner’s investigation over 20 years on from that terrible day;

1a5

Israel and Palestinian Gaza Strip under Hamas deteriorate yet again and fire at each other, to the very brink of invasion into the Gaza Strip yet again;

1a6

The Coalition prove they can even do U-turns with trains as they make a multi-million pound profound mistake (which the tax payer has to pay for) over the contracting of the West Coast Mainline Franchise – idiots!; 1u

Polio Vaccine was being given out by Aid Workers who were shot dead, attacked in several countries for apparently trying to bring Western Ideology into Muslim Countries – healthcare is now a profession that will get you killed. Ridiculous, all they wanted to do is to improve healthcare, save lives, just stupid, I can’t make sense of it, but that is not an unusual state of mind this year; 1a7

Austrian skydiver Felix Baumgartner becomes the first person to break the sound barrier without any machine assistance during a record space dive out of the Red Bull’s Stratos helium-filled balloon from 24 miles above the United States;1r

The UK based recession continues to bite, especially with the Coalition sticking to the austerity measure, which can be summed up as we all pay except for big corporations, the really rich, etc;1t

There is a feeling of targeting those that cannot defend themselves, such as the severely disabled, people coping with learning difficulties, who have their benefits cut, and cut again by the Government, as ATOS acts as their vicious Rottweiler and their tool to dismantle the welfare state;WP  (1)

The Coalition also have a Work Programme as their cornerstone of getting the long term unemployed into work, but unfortunately it is a total failure as figures show those not on the Work Programme have a 100% better chance of getting work – shameful, especially as it cost £650 million, no wonder they need to cut benefits with mistakes like this white elephant!;

WP  (3)Star Bucks, Amazon, Google, and the banks, amongst a very long list of corporations that are named and shamed by the Select Committee as using their wealth and global presence to legally not to pay as much tax as the rest of us. I found it disgusting that my Wife as a Nurse pays more tax as a percentage of earnings than Barclays or more tax in actual money than Star Bucks. Yet the Government, the Conservatives and the Liberal Democrats of all people, take more and more from the most at risk in our Country! I don’t have the words to describe my feelings about this, but it was enough to make me ashamed I had been a Conservative;61l

Let our prayers go to the young lady in India who was gang-raped and beaten by a group of 6 people, which has caused an uprising across India to challenge views and stereotyping of women as second class citizens – may positive and sustainable change happen for all women as a result of this utter tragedy; 1a8

14th December 2012 an event that shook the world, the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, United States, leaves 28 people dead, including 20 children. This was followed a few days later by the shooting of Firemen in America who were just trying to put out a fire – life changing, world appalling tragedy; 2o

25th August 2012 – Neil Armstrong, American astronaut (b. 1930) died;

9th December 2012 – Patrick Moore, English astronomer and broadcaster (b. 1923) died;

11th December 2012 – Ravi Shankar, Indian sitarist (b. 1920) died;

And in the theme of remembering those that died, the end of the world on the 21st of December 2012 did not occur, in case you hadn’t noticed;

The Present:

But I guess from a personal perspective the changes that occurred to my family and I was just as important as any of the world’s events that affected change. Let me explain:

I found my faith again after being in darkness for so long only focussed on greed and ego, forgetting about what is important, family;  christian-symbols-9v

I reconnected with my family, and with the support of my Angel started all over again with a clean slate in business, but family will always come first not greed;

We built a series of companies that are only focussed on the support and betterment of people’s situations who live with disabilities;

JW Samsung Phone 2012 037 I got to grips with the machinations and workings (I am using a very liberal definition of ‘working’) of two Universities and found some real and genuine friends within such hallowed walls;

I even got to grips with social media and found a voice by blogging – very cathartic indeed;

One of my babies took that step into maturity by leaving home, I was so proud to see her mature, and my other baby did so well in her GCSE’s, again I was very proud at how hard she worked;

I also reconnected with and developed a loving and supporting relationship with my older Brother Geoff, whose family I was so pleased to get to know;

I had a wonderful year with my Father, my hero, who passed away on the 21st December 2012, but he taught me well what it means to be a grown-up and to love my children and my wife (my Angel) above all else;

M&D Alnwick Garden 06092012 (45)

The year was drawn to a close with a special Christmas with my children and Angel despite the sad loss of my Father weighing heavy on us all;

The Future:

1d

The Mayan Calendar, some felt, was predicting the end of world but I guess they were wrong, but others believe, as do I, that it was a sign of a new beginning for 2013, a prediction each of us has to make real in our own way, just as each of us has the chance to connect with our own God in our own way if we wish. So these are the key themes for me in 2013:

  •  To continue to put first, to love and cherish my Angel, my Daughters, my Mum, my Brother and his family. To never forget what they mean to me and to adore them above everything;
  • To live by Christian values and to do business by such values;
  • To make a positive difference to others;
  • To try and pull a book together, and let’s see if I can get it published;
  • To continue to blog with an honest voice of my thoughts;
  • To love, honour & cherrish my Family, my Angel;

So to bring this past, present and future to an end, I want people to remember that one does reap tenfold what one sows. Have a wonderful 2013. The following pictures are a tribute to my hero, my Dad:  

Yours

Jonathan Wade

Smiling Cat Ventures and Innovations Group

 

Including:

Smiling Cat Ventures Ltd (www.smilingcatventures.org)

Innovative Minds At Work Ltd (www.innovativemindsatwork.org)

Moments in Time Ltd (www.momentsinmind.org)

Innovative Business Consultancy Ltd (www.ibcv.org.uk)

Systems of Equality Ltd

Passport to Care Ltd (Social Enterprise – Not For Profit)

Spiritual Inclusion (Social Enterprise – Not For Profit)

Disability In Business Centre (in development)

Additional Information can be found at:

FB:           http://www.facebook.com/DisabilityInBusiness

Twitter:    https://twitter.com/AbleNotDisabled

Blog:         https://disabilityinbusiness.wordpress.com

Linkedin:  http://www.linkedin.com/pub/jonathan-wade/59/6/532

https://disabilityinbusiness.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/an-ageing-entrepreneur/

http://www.northeasttimes.co.uk/ArticleDetail.aspx?id=2704