Blinking Wheelchair Services!!!

(A recent email to Wheelchair Services)

As you know you made an appointment with me with regards to the unsuitability of my new wheelchair, to be at 2pm today. I even cancelled an appointment at work to ensure I got home in time, only for Carol, my wife, to inform me that you had, shortly before 2pm, cancelled the appointment but stated that some other person would be coming out still. Well I have a few observations to make:

  1. Am really disappointed you cancelled with no more than a few minutes’ notice
  2. You did not ask if it was ok for you to bring someone to my home as I was only expecting you
  3. I cancelled an important meeting to be here at 2pm, and at the time of sending no one has turned up and I now have had to cancel my entire afternoons arrangements waiting for this person

As you can tell I am not best happy, which was then compounded by the offer you gave to Carol that you could see me Thursday (very kind of you) but you couldn’t give a time – completely and utterly unacceptable. Let me turn the tables for a moment, I am free a week on Monday, so please turn up at 9am and wait for me, as I should be there before 5pm – how does that sound – unacceptable isn’t it? But that is the offer you have given me, via Carol (my wife), as obviously I am not able to make decisions for myself. Perhaps you are under the impression that as a disabled person I should be at home, waiting with baited breath, with great anticipation, with a sense of excitement that you may grace my home. Well it is insulting and shows that perhaps retraining is needed, as believe it or not sometimes people with disabilities, or barriers, have to work and are not sitting at home waiting for a professional to brighten their day. Perhaps revisiting The Social Model of Disability is needed or perhaps listens to the feedback. If I had an appointment with a GP, or you, or another ‘professional’ and cancelled at the last minute or kept you waiting (what is now an hour and a half) you guys would be the first to complain that it was wasting your valuable time. Perhaps that’s it, you think your time is more valuable – again a trip down the lane of the Social Model of Disability will perhaps address this.

